Book Review Activity Sheet

Twinkl Classic Logo
Classic Collection
Click for more information

Save Resource

To save a resource you must first Join or Log In.

Book Review Activity Sheet - book review, book review sheet, writing a book review, book review template, book review writing frame, ks2 literacy, reading

Alternative versions

Description
Ratings & Reviews
Curriculum Links
Suggest a Change
Resource Updates
Log in Join
  • is it possible to get this resource in cursive writing?  

    , 3 days ago
    • Hi ehenton1,
      Lovely idea :) I'll ask our design team to see if they can make a cursive version :)

      , 3 days ago
    • Thank you, this would be great!

      , 3 days ago
    • Hi ehenton1,
      You're very welcome! I'm so glad that we could help! :)

      , 3 days ago
    • Hi there ehenton1, Our lovely resource creation team have created this and emailed the new resource to you! It will also be available to download within 48 hours, and you can find it either as a new resource, or under 'Alternative versions' above. I hope you find it useful!

      , 2 days ago
  • Could we have a greek version please?

    , Oct 12th
    • Hi ajahead,
      Thanks for your suggestion! Unfortunately we do not have anyone on the team who can translate into Greek to the high standards we would require, although there is an editable version of this resource that you might find helpful if you are able to provide your own translation - I hope this helps!

      , Oct 12th
  • An excellent resource. Have adapted it for a grammatical review of a chapter/book. Thank you. 

    , Jun 25th
  • I am going to give this to esl kids to get them to say something about what they read.  | want them to express opinion: I think it would be good for......give reason: because... and describe: it is about a witch with a broom etc.It looks like a useful form to achieve all that on.

    , Mar 21st
  • Summary of a guided reading topic.

    , Jun 15th
    • Hi rojones8915,
      Thank you very much for commenting! It's great to hear from you :)

      , Jun 15th
  • To use for my MAPS doing a review on a class book.

    , May 25th
    • ;]

      , 1 day ago
    • Hi lylamae,
      I'm glad this resource is useful! Thanks for letting us know :)

      , 1 day ago
  • Can this resource please be adapted so it is suitable for Year 5s? My class would find this too easy but I am looking for something suitable for Year 5 that is a non fiction review. Thank you

    , Feb 12th
    • Hi Carolynliptrot,

      Thank you for your comment on the Twinkl website.

      Before I ask our teacher team about this for you, I was wondering if you could provide a few more details about the resource you're looking for?

      I hope you have a lovely day! : )

      , Feb 12th
  • this would be good for homework

    , Feb 2nd
  • Will use for book report on Black Beauty. Would like to see more resources for this book. Thank you

    , Jan 31st
  • unable to download resource. Please help!

    , Dec 31st
  • Reviewing a range of stories set in the past

    , Nov 10th
  • for ASD CHILD

    , Sep 30th
  • My reading corner, to ensure my ch have actually read their books

    , Sep 17th
  • This will great for when children in my class have finished their reading book! They will have to complete a book review to put into the folder to recommend the book to their friends.

    , Sep 15th
  • ongoing activity after listening to audio books. Thanks

    , Sep 13th
  • Homework activity for Literacy Week. Review your favourite text. Thanks Twinkl

    , Jul 26th
    • Hi missleape,
      You're very welcome - so glad we could help!

      , Jul 26th
  • ongoing activity for guided reading

    , Jul 16th
    • Hi NicolaDouglass,
      Thank you for sharing! :)

      , Jul 16th
  • end of unit consolidation :)

    , Jul 12th
    • Hi annatomlinson1,
      Thank you for sharing! :)

      , Jul 12th
  • Guided Reading Group rotation activities. Thanks a bunch

    , Jul 9th
    • Hi MrsMark14,
      You're very welcome! Thank you for commenting :)

      , Jul 9th
  • To help consolidate reading

    , May 24th
  • extra

    , May 15th
  • year 1 independent reading time

    , May 3rd
  • I am going to sort my reading area out and use book review sheet as display to advertise the books!

    , Apr 13th
  • Guided reading book review.

    , Mar 21st
  • An activity for World Book Day.

    , Mar 5th
  • World Book Day

    , Feb 28th
  • I use this resource for my guided reading sessions in Year 2. It is brilliant, thanks.

    , Jan 27th
  • I'm using this in my reading corner book review folder. Year 3.

    , Sep 30th
  • great sheet thanks guys....using in y2 here!

    , Apr 28th
  • A great resource for World Book Day! Thanks

    , Mar 5th
  • I will use it to get my class to do a review of Gangsta Granny, which we have just finished reading.

    , Feb 21st
  • This is my favorite book review ever!!!

    , Dec 4th
  • A very useful resource.

    , May 31st
Help your children to write the best book review they can with this creative book review worksheet. The worksheet enables them to reflect on the book by illustrating a favourite scene from it, and by thinking about who else would enjoy the book and why.

Why not also check out our lovely reading comprehension resources?

This resource is available in Standard, Editable and Lined.
  • Homepage » 2014 National Curriculum Resources » English » Key Stage 1 » Year 2 » Reading - Comprehension » Explain and discuss their understanding of books, poems and other material, both those that they listen to and those that they read for themselves
  • Homepage » Home Education » Subject Resources » English
  • Homepage » Australia » Australian Curriculum Browser » English » Year 3 » Literacy » Creating Texts » Plan, draft and publish imaginative, informative and persuasive texts demonstrating increasing control over text structures and language features and selecting print,and multimodal elements appropriate to the audience and purpose (ACELY1682)
  • Homepage » Australia » Victoria Curriculum Browser » English » Year 3 » Writing - Literacy » Creating Texts » Plan, draft and publish imaginative, informative and persuasive texts demonstrating increasing control over text structures and language features and selecting print and multimodal elements appropriate to the audience and purpose (VCELY266)
  • Homepage » Australia » Australian Curriculum Browser » English » Year 4 » Literacy » Creating Texts » Plan, draft and publish imaginative, informative and persuasive texts containing key information and supporting details for a widening range of audiences, demonstrating increasing control over text structures and language features(ACELY1694)
  • Homepage » Australia » Victoria Curriculum Browser » English » Year 4 » Writing - Literacy » Creating Texts » Plan, draft and publish imaginative, informative and persuasive texts containing key information and supporting details for a widening range of audiences, demonstrating increasing control over text structures and language features (VCELY299)
  • Homepage » Australia » 3 - 4 » English » Literacy » Reading » Guided Reading
  • Homepage » Australia » 5 - 6 » English » Literacy » Writing » Text Types » Information Report
  • Homepage » Parents » Y1 and Y2 (5-7) » English » Reading » Reading at Home
  • Homepage » Australia » 5 - 6 » English » Literacy » Reading » Guided Reading
  • Homepage » Scotland (CfE) » CfE Curriculum Browser » Literacy and English » First Level » Listening and Talking » Enjoyment and Choice » I regularly select and listen to or watch texts which I enjoy and find interesting, and I can explain why I prefer certain sources.I regularly select subject, purpose, format and resources to create texts of my choice. LIT 1-01a
  • Homepage » Scotland (CfE) » Second » Languages » Literacy and English » Reading » Enjoyment and choice
  • Homepage » 2014 National Curriculum Resources » English » Key Stage 1 » Year 2 » Reading - Comprehension » Participate in discussion about books, poems and other works that are read to them and those that they can read for themselves, taking turns and listening to what others say
  • Homepage » Scotland (CfE) » Early » Languages » Literacy and English » Listening and talking » Enjoyment and choice » Book Reviews
  • Homepage » Key Stage 1 » English » Reading » Book Reviews
  • Homepage » Key Stage 1 » English » Story Primary Resources » Book Reviews
  • Homepage » Early Years » Communication and Language and Literacy » Story Primary Resources » Book Reviews
  • Homepage » Early Years » Communication and Language and Literacy » Reading » Book Reviews
  • Homepage » Key Stage 1 » English » Writing » Writing Frames & Templates » Book Reviews
  • Homepage » Australia » Australian Curriculum Browser » English » Year 3 » Literature » Responding to Literature » Develop criteria for establishing personal preferences for literature (ACELT1598)
  • Homepage » Australia » Victoria Curriculum Browser » English » Year 3 » Reading and Viewing - Literature » Responding to Literature » Develop criteria for establishing personal preferences for literature (VCELT252)
  • Homepage » Early Years » Communication and Language and Literacy » Writing » Writing Frames & Templates » Book Reviews
  • Homepage » Scotland (CfE) » Second » Languages » Literacy and English » Reading » Enjoyment and choice » Book Reviews
  • Homepage » Australia » 3 - 4 » Topics » Festivals, Celebrations and Events » Children's Book Week
  • Homepage » Scotland (CfE) » CfE Curriculum Browser » Literacy and English » First Level » Reading » Enjoyment and Choice » I regularly select and read, listen to or watch texts which I enjoy and find interesting, and I can explain why I prefer certain texts and authors. LIT 1-11a
  • Homepage » Scotland (CfE) » First » Languages » Literacy and English » Reading » Enjoyment and choice
  • Homepage » Key Stage 2 » English » Reading » Book Reviews
  • Homepage » Scotland (CfE) » Second » Languages » Literacy and English » Writing » Enjoyment and choice » Reviews
  • Homepage » Australia » F-2 » Topics » Festivals, Celebrations and Events » Children's Book Week
  • Homepage » Australia » 3 - 4 » English » Literacy » Writing » Text Types » Review
  • Homepage » Australia » 5 - 6 » Topics » Festivals, Celebrations and Events » Children's Book Week
  • Homepage » Secondary » English » KS3 » Resources Organised by Curriculum Objective » Writing » Write accurately, fluently, effectively and at length for pleasure and information: » Write for a wide range of purposes and audiences
  • Homepage » 2014 National Curriculum Resources » English » Key Stage 2 » Upper KS2 - Years 5 and 6 » Reading - Comprehension » Recommend books that they have read to their peers, giving reasons for their choices
  • Homepage » Republic of Ireland » English Medium Schools » 3rd/4th Class » English » Reading » Book Reviews
  • Homepage » Republic of Ireland » English Medium Schools » 5th/6th Class » English » Reading » Book Reviews
  • Homepage » Secondary » English » KS3 » Writing » Writing Non-Fiction » Writing to Comment and Review
  • Homepage » Secondary » English » KS3 » Resources Organised by Curriculum Objective » Reading » Develop an appreciation and love of reading, and read increasingly challenging material independently: » Choose reading books independently for challenge, interest and enjoyment
  • Homepage » Secondary » English » KS3 » Reading » Guided Reading » Book Reviews
  • Please Log In or Join for FREE to suggest a change for this resource.
    • Twinkl added Cursive Version 2 days ago
    • Twinkl updated the Main Version on Jun 13th
    • Twinkl added Editable Version on Mar 14th
    • Twinkl added Lined Version on Nov 5th
    • Twinkl added Lined Version on Nov 2nd
    Careers